• MBDA Memberships
    • Memberships run from July 1-June 30 each year. Remember to renew your membership close to July 1 so you have access to MBDA benefits all year long! Check your "membership history" here:
    • You can now pay for your membership online with a credit card.
    • State Honor Band Audition are now available for all current members. Be sure to look for a link on the left hand side of your page when you log in to your account. 


New to the Region?

Are you new to your school, or do you know of a new director in the area? There are also opportunities for new directors to participate in the MBDA mentorship program. 

Contact Erika Bierman to get on our region email list to receive information about Honor Bands and other happenings in the SW Region.


SWMBDA Regional Honor Band 2017

Saturday, January 21

Marshall Middle and High Schools

Look for more information coming soon to your email!

Honor Band Chairs:

Collin Stephenson - Redwood Valley (6-8 Honor Band)

Kurt Jahnke - Mountain Lake (9-10 Honor Band)

Paul Berggren - Redwood Valley (11-12 Honor Band)



 Southwest Region Board of Directors:



James Jarvie, Ellsworth Public School

James Jarvie is in his 5th year of teaching at the Ellsworth Public School, where he teaches K-12 Band, Choir, and Music. James also directs two drumlines, the marching band, color guard, and teaches private lessons after school. James is also involved as his school's Parent Teacher Organization President. He received his Bachelor of Arts degree in Music Education from the University of Minnesota, Morris, and studied trumpet as his primary instrument. He grew up in Cokato, MN and now resides in Luverne, MN with his wife, Calla. 



Collin Stephenson, Redwood Area Middle School



Vacant position. If interested in serving on the regional board, please contact James Jarvie.



Lee Varpness, Montevideo Public Schools

Lee Varpness has been teaching instrumental music since 1985 in Minnesota schools. He is presently completing his 20th year teaching middle school band (grade 6-8) at Montevideo Middle School, Montevideo, Minnesota. Previous to Montevideo, Lee directed bands at Beardsley/Browns Valley Schools, Browns Valley, Minnesota, and Pelican Rapids Public School, Pelican Rapids, Minnesota. He also is completing his 21st year as low brass instructor at the University of Minnesota, Morris. He received his bachelor degree from the University of Minnesota, Morris in instrumental music.

In his current position at Montevideo, Lee has three middle school bands, middle school jazz band, teaches small group lessons to students in grades 6-8, and teaches summer band lessons to middle school students during the month of June.

Lee is involved in MENC, MMEA, and MBDA. He is actively involved in the Montevideo Area Community Band, area church choirs, performs in various area instrument groups, and serves as an adjudicator at small group contests.  


Membership Chair:

Erika BiermanAdrian High School


Erika Bierman is currently Director of Bands at Adrian Public Schools. In addition to serving on the SW Region MBDA board, she is the current President-Elect for MBDA.  She has previously taught Music and Band at Round Lake Brewster High School, Nerstrand Elementary, and McLeod West Public Schools. She received her Bachelor of Arts in Music Education from Concordia College-Moorhead and studied Contra-Alto, Bass, and B-flat Clarinet. Erika also worked with the 77 Lancers Marching Band as woodwind instructor for 4 summer seasons and was the Low Reeds section coach for the Minnesota All-State Symphonic Band in 2014-15 and 2015-16.




For logistical purposes, this roster contains high school, college, and university institutions. The regional assignment for elementary and middle schools is currently identified by the name of the HIGH SCHOOL that serves your student population.


Southwest Minnesota State University (Marshall)

University of Minnesota - Morris

Willmar Community College

Worthington Community College



B O L D, Olivia


Benson Christian School



Cedar Mountain, Morgan

Central Minnesota Christian,Prinsburg




E.C.H.O. Charter School



ENW Learning Center, Morton



Heron Lake-Okabena

Hills-Beaver Creek

Holy Redeemer, Marshall

Jackson County Central


Lac qui Parle Valley, Madison

Lake Benton

Lakeview, Cottonwood

Lincoln H I, Ivanhoe


MACCRAY, Clara City




Morris Area School
Mountain Lake

Murray County Central, Slayton


Pipestone Area

Red Rock Central, Lamberton

Redwood Valley, Redwood Falls

Renville County West


Sioux Valley Lutheran,Lakefield

Sioux Valley-

Round Lake-Brewster




Westbrook-Walnut Grove


Windom Area


Yellow Medicine East